Brough & Miller ride again

This morning I reached the end of the first draft of my next book, which will be the fifth case for Dedley detectives, Brough and Miller.  And it’s their most gruesome one yet.  It’s called COFFIN DODGERS – I’ll post an extract once I’ve edited the manuscript.

It’s been a different way of working on this one.  I wrote it by hand in three notebooks while travelling on trains.  Not only is it a great way to pass the time on those interminable and invariably delayed journeys, but it was like a return to how I used to do things: first draft by hand, second on a typewriter (remember them?).  This method has slowed me down but I hope the plot is as fast-moving and funny as their other cases.

And now, the editing begins… This is where I find out if the story hangs together and the jokes work.  But not just yet.  I’m taking the rest of the day off.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Novel, On Writing, Update

One response to “Brough & Miller ride again

  1. Spanish Jackie

    How exciting! I can’t wait to read their latest investigation. I shall be looking out for its publication

Leave a Reply

