The horror, the horror!

I am currently working on a horror novel.  It’s a step outside of my comfort zone; there have been some gruesome events in a couple of my other books (Blood & Breakfast is the most obvious example) but in those the overall aim was to make the reader laugh.  With this one (as yet untitled) I’m deliberately aiming for a different response from the reader.  I want to horrify and maybe even frighten.  I’m sure there’ll be laughs along the way; my sense of humour is pretty much irrepressible.  Whether this foray into another genre is successful remains to be seen – or hidden away on a memory stick never to see the light of a Kindle screen…

I don’t think Stephen King needs to look to his crown just yet.

 

2 Comments

Filed under On Writing

2 responses to “The horror, the horror!

  1. A goal I have as well. But moreso, to thrill without being too gorey.

Leave a Reply

